Return to Dip Island

Broke out the old set of drawing dip pens. My wife was going on about how she got to sand her fountain pen tips and made them write smoother. I tried them and noticed the difference. She has 6 or 7 fountain pens now,, and she is really enthusiastic about with new found hobby.

I asked her to sand my drawing ink tips, but I was impatient and did it myself. After sanding and cleaning, I printed a “photo blue” version of one of my “standard” subjects to try out the little rascals. As you may see, lack of practice shows. That’s 6 to 8 months w/o dipping ink. Not that I ever practiced that much. The thick lines are a tell-tale sign that I covered mistakes. Getting used to the steady and straight strokes was kind of hard at first, but by the end, I was closer to the motions and angles. With a brush, you sort of stroke away from yourself. But with a dip pen, a stricter angle and motion is required. Simply put, there is only one direction that you can use to draw with these tips, and the angle is strict if you want a steady ink line. I combined strokes to the side with strokes toward myself to get what I wanted (after getting used to it, of course). I started wider tips, and finished with narrow ones. I also used regular copier paper, which came close to ripping in the solid black areas. Thankfully, the ink dried quickly, and I was lucky.

Anyway, it was fun to sit there, and patiently dance with the line that slow dance the ink makes you do. As well, that India drawing ink sure dries up fast. Something that helped avert smudge city. I hope you like this. I’ll try to get more experimental with my dip ink drawings in the future, but for now, it was a good experience, and a reminder that there are all kinds of tools out there to draw with, and you can make them do what you want. Oh yeah… robot says hi! Thanks for dropping by, and always have a great art time.

Published in: Uncategorized on October 20, 2012 at 11:39 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice. I wish I used the crow quill more but I am not a huge fan of the Copic crow quill and I am always sketching away from my drawing table… Keep creating! ArrOOoo!

  2. Alright Jahh! Thanks! And thanks for dropping a line!
    I may try more time with the dip pens. I think they’re a good exercise in how to control angle and rotation of whatever pen you are holding, as they are difficult to handle (for me, at least). I’ve been spoiled by PITT pens (like micron type pens in genera), and to some extent by brush pens. The fast drying drawing ink rocks… I was expecting smudges all over. (btw copic crow quill? – in any case I’d like to try a crow quill, but I think its some other brand…. I just know that Jerzy and Mark R use them… some day I’ll check it out, but to me, there’s lots to explore before that). – Digital? another day for me, though I have an intuous here begging for action.
    Again… I really appreciate you dropping a line. This place has been neglected, and could use a little action. :)
    Have a great one!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

