Gesture Line

Time for basics. The year started with “Gesture Line” as a topic in the Tuesday Sketch. The experience turned out to be a mini experiment. Adventures looking for a gesture line.

TS169-GestureLineI thought I had gesture lines down. Mine were recognizable as such by my peers, a long time ago! The hare took a nap, eh? I give you a bit of my search for the elusive gesture line. Should be the first thing you see, right? :)

photo (1)

So I picked a reference image of a lady in a courtsey pose. I suppose I could have picked a pose with more obvious gesture lines, but here we go. If you’re wondering, its from Stephen Silver’s Pose Book app.

gesture-looking-1Some initial unfocused attempts at finding a gesture line.  I used a Tombow brush pen to throw myself off. Finding more shapes than lines, eh? Focusing.

gesture-looking-2

Some of these lines could be mistaken for gesture lines. Loosen up, and the lines start to make sense. Going for “flow” or visual “action”. The pose was strange, so I came up with a few lines that I think can hold it up.

gesture-foundAnd here they are. For some reason the shoulders seemed like a good starting point. And of course, the crown of the head starts one main line. The crossed legs complicated things, making this an awkward balance for the figure. I think this is how it goes to the Tuesday Sketch… very very rough. I’ll finish something off of these lines soon.

My lesson: Practice your basics frequently. Better to be in shape when you need it.

Have a great art time, and thanks for dropping by!

Published in: on January 8, 2013 at 9:32 am  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. And a Happy New Year to you too Jose. Yes, back to pencil and paper. I might even take part in a few Tuesday Sketches, if I get my act together.

    • :) and thanks for dropping by, Noel!
      Pencil and paper and ink.

  2. Crazy sounding request! I came across ur robots playing music sketch and would like to use it in a school fundraiser ad. is this ok? it is so cute! rositter@gmail.com thanks, maureen


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

