Experiment #1 – Jellyfish

At least his mom thinks he's cute.

Hi folks…

Here’s my first posted experiment. A cute jellyfish from one of my pencil sketches. This was done with crayola washable paints, and colored sharpies, on watercolor paper.

As you will often read here, I take my art practice where I can find it. Father-daughter time can turn into art sessions. I do have some earlier experiments using the same mix of paints and sharpie, posted to my flickr photostream,¬†¬†mostly on sketchbook paper (not the best media for this paint, but oh well… like I said… I take what I can get).

I learned some lessons here: (1) Washable paints are a pain to layer with. Strangely enough, they wash off when you try to layer! (duh) (2) Watercolor paper should be prepared (wet and stretch) before using. It buckled and warped, but not as much as regular paper did under the same conditions with earlier tests. Last, and more importantly (3) I should start using grown-up art supplies some time soon, don’t you think?

I hope you like this little guy. Comments will be very much appreciated, if you feel so inclined.

I will post again, very soon.

Have a great art day, and thanks for stopping by!

Published in: on February 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jaglab.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/48/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like how the piece turned out. Nice vivid colors, Jose. Looking forward to seeing more “experiments” in the laboratory!

  2. Cute Jelly fish..Love it when Alejandra and you paint. Keep it up..!!


Leave a Reply

