Illustration Friday submission #1 – Experiment #2 – Deadline Motivation

Here we go! FOCUS!

I time crunched a submission for Illustration Friday!  I decided to enter  Escape From Illustration Island’s contest.  If you submit an illustration for all 4 weeks of Illustration Friday for the month of February, you’ll be eligible to win the Drew Stuzan’s tutorial DVD called “Conceiving and Creating the Hellboy Movie Poster Art”.

Drew Stuzan’s art is awesome, and I’d love to have that DVD. You can learn so much from the pros when they show their process.

I was even more inspired after listening to episode 20 of the Escape From Illustration Island podcast. The insight that Stuzan shared was like none other.

Additionally, I realized I was doing this just to get the practice and experience that will push my limits, and help me build up the “stamina” to increase my “output”.

So this experiment was all about time. Since this week I bumped into many obstacles whenever I wanted to draw, I decided I’d let it flow, and rush the process with very little time. I did a sketch of myself meditating and decided to use it to hit the illo with my barely used wacom tablet. I literally did this in about an hour, maybe less (I’m a complete digital art newbie). To top it off, I had tablet problems with my old windows PC. Was I surprised when the pen didn’t want to paint in GIMP (the poor man’s Photoshop – great app!).  I still need to learn a lot about digital art, and using the tools available. I have very little experience with layers, and all that magic one can do with photoshop-like apps.

I had many ideas of how to do this, so many that it contributed to procrastination, so I decided to throw being precious about this piece out the window, and have at it.

I hope you enjoy my rough illo… looks like a pencil drawing, doesn’t it?

Thanks for dropping by, and have a great art day!

Published in: on February 4, 2010 at 11:58 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jaglab.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/57/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations on your fist IF submission! Mine is related to yours. You have definitely captured a meditative feeling in this!

    • Thanks, Ann Marie. I was actually in the mood, and decided to ride that wave. It felt good, and I’ve even gone back to doing my old Yoga routines at home because of this. Of course, I’ll check yours out. I’ll bet its awesome.

  2. Congratulations! mine was like two months ago!

    • Thanks Laura… nice to be in great company!

  3. Congratulations on your new blog!

    I like the eye ball!

    • Thanks Amanda! The third eye was supposed to be radiating, but I didn’t have time to get a good effect. Of course, I rushed it on purpose this time.

  4. great take on the prompt – well done

  5. Very cool, G! You are very Dr. Manhattan-esque! Dig it!

    • Thanks, Big guy! I’m glad I didn’t “dress” the part this time!

  6. Great stuff! Keep it coming!


Leave a Reply

