Little Ink Warrior – Experiment #4

Little Ink Warrior - Experiment #4First time experimenting with ink.  This impromptu experiment was brought on by sudden inspiration. The triggers: Ted Seko, and Ryan Dow. Ryan was experimenting with the an ancient oriental inking technique using bamboo skewers. He related his initial experience, and I was immediately interested. It beats the expense of brushes and markers, but more importantly, it makes for a very organic approach to inking. I thought I had some skewers, but alas, none were to be found. I thought I’d wait to get them, but then I saw Ted Seko inking a comic page on youtube, and I could not resist the temptation.

I broke out the Higgins calligraphy ink bottle, and my daughter’s crayola brushes. (Yes… as I’ve said before,  I use whatever is handy… that’s part of the experimental approach). I went at it, with no particular idea of what to use as a subject. The hair led to the face, the body, and then the sword just fell there naturally. I was not being precious at all, marvelling at the way the ink flowed on the sketchbook paper. Haven’t seen anything dry as fast that I can remember.  The paper just soaked it up.

So here it is, a little ink warrior. I’ve always favored martial arts, so the post came naturally. By the end, I was planning future ink sallies. I’ve been really missing out on a lot of fun. If you’ve never inked, I truly recommend the experience. I now understand the passion some of my friends feel for this medium.

Thanks Ryan and Ted, and thanks to all my inking friends for sharing their work and tips (although I did not remember any of them while I was doing this, their advise keeps popping up in my mind now!)

Hope you enjoy! More to come in the near future. Thanks for dropping by!

Published in: on February 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love using ink with dip pen nibs!!

    • I begin to see how artists that ink can get particular, and even fanatical about what they choose to ink with. The number of possibilities make it a very great horizon to explore. It explains why inking artists sing the praises of their chosen method so often. I really look forward to trying the more conventional and traditional methods. The experience of this very rough discovery experiment makes it a big deal for me in my exploration.

  2. Yes, it is fun to ink, isn’t it?

    Two suggestions, though. You could try and imagine your drawing before you put anything on paper, so have more to hold on. Second, if you’ve drawn one ink sketch, try another, and yet another, with the same idea in mind. This way you have versions and can see what techniques, mood, etc. gives the best results.

    Yes, mood. Try a happy mood (think of something happy) and ink, try an angry mood (think of something obnoxious), and you’ll probably see a stark difference in how your ink flows on the paper. Music can have that effect as well, as it influences our moods.

    Good luck on your next experiment.

    • Thanks so much, Rene. Great ideas! I didn’t have much time to really get serious about it last night… my daughter was co-piloting, and you’ve got to mind a 6 year old sitting next to you with a loaded ink brush (that in itself was scary and distracting!). Her initial black flowers were quickly covered by blotches of ink! She kept complaining that there was only black to work with!
      Can’t wait to try ink again… very soon, and with more grown up tools. The split kids brushes were both a little frustrating, and challenging… but I liked the effects and “happy accidents”.


Leave a Reply

