Brush vs Pen-Brush

Yes. I said it!  I will compare the brush and the brush-pen using ink.  There are better comparisons from experienced artists, I’m sure, but I had to do it on my own.

A good friend of mine was kind enough to lend me the image of a beautiful drawing she had created some time ago.  I had told her I would like to ink it.  She agreed, and now I don’t offend her!  The original is beautiful.

I created a blue-line image to print and ink.  Here they are, side by side.  To the left, version one, inked with brush-pen/india-ink.  I used a couple of micron-like pens that came with the set (PITT brush-pen 8, Faber Castel).  To the right, inked with #3 and #5 brushes (no name), and “Pelican” calligraphy ink.

It was obvious how much easier I could control the brush-pen.  I suppose it is only natural to take to it.  I still need practice (jittery and blobby), but I feel more confident with the brush-pen.  The brush, on the other hand, forces you to deal with a dynamic tip more than a brush-pen.  Dealing with ink flow, and loading, is a sort of “dance”.  I didn’t even re-water my brush, and it slowly got gunky, and wouldn’t hold as much ink.  I was so into trying to get an easy/clean line, that I didn’t even pay attention to that.  I would later find out about it talking with Ted Seko (Thanks Ted!).

I didn’t  get to do digital clean up.  You’ll notice there are still blue-line marks all over the place.  Someone actually liked seeing those the last time I tried this.  And of course, something has to be said about hair.  Why is it the one first thing I’m concentrating on while I discover what I can do with ink?  Can someone answer that?  There must be other “memes” in inking like that one.  I was lured by the “shine” of “inked” hair!  I should get a book on inking.

Thanks for visiting.  If you have any thoughts on this, please feel free to comment.  I really appreciate your visits.  Have a great art day/night.

Published in: on March 29, 2010 at 1:45 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like the result with the brush. I gotta say though, what type of brush does make a difference. I invested in just one “Series 7” brush just for this purpose of inking fine lines. Have to be careful not to let it dry on the brush though, easily makes useless sticks out of a fine art tool..
    I just started using a Zebra (Japanese) brand brush pen recently– so far, liking it a lot.

    • Thanks Chris! I’m itching to give any of these brushes more time these days. I have “toys” to check out, but not much time lately. Inking is such a pleasurable experience, and I can’t wait to practice. As the experience went, the penbrush was the easiest for a beginner like me. And it is way handier when one is on the move… which will probably be my next attempt. The traditional brush does give one a classical experience in a traditional sense, and having to reload affects your work (obviously) in timing and quality (that’s a great challenge, and a zen-like aspect I can appreciate. At least I won’t run out of supplies for further experimenting in the near future. Thanks so much for comment.


Leave a Reply

