Watercolor Pencils and Ink

Here is one of my first attempts at watercolors. I used watercolor pencils, but I plan on trying traditional watercolors soon.  This is one of a few watercolor pencil experiments I have going at this time.  I first drew basic forms with a light pencil. Why a robot? I love robots. Here’s my first watercolor stage completed.

Applied dry, watercolor pencil really builds up inside watercolor paper ridges. I applied water with a #2 brush. Most color would dissolve, the rest would just streak. Experimenting along, I kept applying pencil and brushing away. Watercolor artists do their magic here. Me? I will learn this magic through practice. Blending and controlling color is a calming experience, even when it turned out “wrong”.  I don’t know if you can tell, but I spent a lot of time pushing colors around.

This next scan shows when I decided to stop adding colors, and start applying ink lines.  The forms were starting to fade. I like the way ink pens can make a subject “pop” in a composition.  This piece was done in more than one sitting. Before using ink, lots of drying time was always required. I used paper towels to blend and dry as well.

Finally, ink wash time! As you can see below, I buried all the background sky detail using a good amount of ink wash.  This stage was fun, as I mixed different concentrations of ink and water, and tested them separately.  I love the way ink wash looks. I think I got a nice grey out of it.  And to finish it off, I added details with colored brush pens.

I hope you enjoyed my process description. There will be more of these in the near future.  If you’d like to ask a question, comment on any of this, or give me a suggestion, I will really appreciate your feedback. Thanks for visiting, and have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on June 28, 2010 at 9:38 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. that’s so cute!!!!

    • Thanks Laura. I’m toying with using something like this in a children’s story. Thanks for visiting!

  2. He could be the star of a mini-comic. He has the cuteness factor in favor of him.

    • Who knows, Rene. I hope to get a story going, and he may be a candidate. Thanks for the comment!

  3. I like it..!! and love the possibilities with this cute drawing..keep up the good work.xoxo

    • Nothing like my main inspiration dropping by to comment even when you give me live, on-the-spot feedback. I will create your “commission” very soon. 🙂

  4. Jose this is awesome! I can see a comic or even animation with that little dude!

    • Thanks, Raul. I have a little comic/kid’s story in mind, and these may be characters. Still in the works.


Leave a Reply

