Ohmu – ink

I’ve been watching Miyasaki films lately, and “Nausaicaa from the Valley of the Wind” was a treat.  These giant creatures called “Ohmu” struck my fancy.  This particular piece started as a sketch for the Impulsive Sketch Journal blog, but time got the best of me, so I decided to ink it, mainly for practice value.  I sketched on a standard sketchbook, and inked using a mix of Faber Castel and Sakura pens and brushpens.  I hope you like this humble fan art piece.  Stay tuned for increased art activity, here, and that the Impulse blog.  Things are starting to happen.  Thanks for visiting, and as always, have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on August 17, 2010 at 10:32 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , ,

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is really cool man I like it a lot!!!

    • Thanks, man! I’m in a Miyasaki kick lately, and thought I’d pick a non-standard character, out of the blue. Cute eh? LOL Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Nice work! I love Nausaicaa. Have you ever gotten a chance to see Miyazaki’s manga for this flick (I’m not positive but I think they came before the actual film.) Breathtaking stuff…

    By the by, you really nailed the perspective…

    • Thanks, Shawn! The manga for this story did come out before the movie, and I’ve seen some odd pages. In fact, I read the movie was made right before Studio Ghibli was created. Thanks for the suggestion. I haven’t read a complete manga yet, but I’m sure this one is a great start for me. I’ll look it up. Miyasaki’s own manga? I’m looking forward to it.
      I looked at some images of toy models for this, and their construction varies to a degree. I had to twist that perspective in my head a bit, but its not far from what the ref images suggested, so that helped. The “background” does guide the eye a bit there.
      Thanks so much for dropping by and leaving a comment!

  3. I was just watching Nausica the other day – great effort!

    • Thanks Paul. It’s fun to try to draw those things one likes. Lately I’m trying this about once a week. Onwards with the drawing, and the art, and the fun stuff eh? I really appreciate you dropping by and leaving a comment!
      (I’m getting a big kick out of Miyasaki too)


Leave a Reply

