Star Gazing – Illustration Friday

Submission for Illustration Friday’s topic: Star Gazing.  The images I could come up with invariably involved someone laying on a field at night, or peeking through a telescope, looking up at the stars. So I thought I could have the stars actually gazing back.  This weekly Illustration Friday topic thing has become a little tradition for me now. It now seems that I’ve taken this scheduled event as an opportunity to exercise creativity on the fly. Most of the time I wait until the day before the deadline to start.  Having little time motivates me to come up with something clever, instead of working on something for days, and getting too “precious” with it, or spending time exploring the digital tools instead of learning to draw and paint.  I want to get to the point where I can produce something worthwhile quickly.  Keeping it simple has forces one to concentrate on the idea more than on the technique. It doesn’t allow much time to explore and learn digital art skills, but its an excellent mental exercise. I don’t want the tools to interfere with my learning process at this stage. Thanks for dropping by, and have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on August 20, 2010 at 12:14 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. just on time! Love your happy star!!

    • Thanks Laura! LOL Just in time. I think this last minute thing is becoming a little tradition. Your beautiful backgrounds/textures would do fine here, I think. Thanks for dropping by! I really appreciate your comments!

      • textures is a matter of practice! keep it on!

  2. man!! there’s no “like” button!! haha, clever drawing 🙂 really awesome

    • Your comment is far better than a “Like” button any day. Thank you!!!

  3. Very cool. I like the expression on the big star. Very cool!

    • LOL Thanks bud! you know… gazing, laid back, watching the youngster have fun discovering. I guess its an attitude. Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate it.

  4. I see you also took the role-reversal path.

    Man I gotta get on this week’s word.

    • I usually try to come up with something unconventional and fun for the Illustration Friday topic, if possible. Its a great exercise, but sometimes I have to miss it. Its great to get a comment between Fridays.
      Dropped by your spot. I like the action in your “star gazing” entry a lot. Having more characters with different things going on is very effective! Excellent site! Love your illustrations, and your cartoon ideas and situations, as well as your cartoon style!.
      Thanks so much for your comment, and for thanks dropping by!


Leave a Reply

