Art Card Practice

I worked on art cards for the first time, last week, and made a couple of extras, which I just finished.  It went pretty well, in terms of mixing colors and cleanup (getting the knack for quick setup and cleanup now). I tried a bit more control with color intensity, and even a bit of shading. We’ve got Orko, the little red robed imp guy of “He-Man and The Masters of the Universe” cartoon fame. Also, if you can recognize him, there’s a caricature of “Slash” from, Guns N’ Roses. I always liked Orko from M.O.T.U. TV show. Slash, although not my favorite guitar player, popped up in my mind while drawing. He has a very iconic look. I picked simple subjects since my intent was to play some more with watercolors. As well, there being little real-estate to render in art cards (2.5×3.5in), I wanted subjects I could finish quickly (not much design and drawing tasks to bog me down at the start of the process). They were both done on watercolor paper, using pencils, ink, watercolor, and a little touch up with brush pen to finish them up.  Slash’s hat and shades were all brush pen.

Art cards are a great way to quickly get an “art-muscle” work-out, plus they are fun, and satisfying to produce. My next ones will be a bit more complicated, as I keep exploring this trend that seems to pervade the art community. I’m sure I’m way behind in discovering this little form, but I’m glad I did. I get inking and watercolor practice in manageable bite size chunks. I consider this practice for bigger, normal size pieces.

I hope you like these. You’ll see more of them, but I’m sure my pencil sketches will show up again in these posts soon enough.  Thanks for your visit. Please feel free to leave a comment (I love them), and as always, I wish you have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on October 26, 2010 at 10:42 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nicely done, Jose!

    • Thank you Rene! It is a lot of fun, and I like that fact that its a quick thing to do. At least you can do a few at a time. So far its 1 session drawing a few, and inking them. Then another session painting, and finishing. Excellent general drawing/inking/painting practice. An all-in-one thing. Thanks for your visit!

  2. Oooh, very nice! 😀


Leave a Reply

