Love Commission

A promised “wife commission” so to speak. This was done on Bristol series 300 vellum paper, 2.5×3.5in (art card format), using Faber-Castel PITT ink pens, and a story.

Some time ago, I had started getting serious about creating art, and promised my wife something special. She liked a whimsical illustration of a lady lounging inside a coffee cup by Dirceu Vega. She asked that I draw us both lounging inside a giant coffee cup. I practiced and posted Coffee Ladyas an experiment right here about a year ago. This was probably my first digital piece. I still don’t draw digitally as much as I would like. I’m all about traditional methods since I’m learning to draw, and I’m having a blast.

So time passed, and the promised piece was still a promise. I would practice now and then, drawing coffee cups, ladies lounging, trying to come up with a nice composition. I would always get stuck on some aspect for the piece, and loose sight of the big picture. Experimenting with art can side-track anyone goals. Here’s the last ink experiment on this theme. Burlesque Coffee Lady.

So there you have it. My wife and I, sitting in a coffee cup, toasting coffee to the starry night. Believe me, there is cartoon likeness with our own selves here, even though it is very simple illustration. I’m proud of it. It’s the first piece I’ve framed as a gift. There will be more, I’m sure. Thanks so much for visiting. I hope you like it, and that it inspires you to “make stuff” (or do stuff) for your loved ones. Have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on January 22, 2011 at 10:26 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , ,

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a wonderful piece!

  2. Thank you so much!
    There will be more art cards soon!

  3. Nice bro, really touching…

    ArrrOOooo!

    • Thanks Jahh!
      I hope it inspires others to do the same. Very fulfilling.


Leave a Reply

