Doodle Swap Done

And the Doodle Swap art cards are finally done. This last week was my first new job work week. I barely had time to lay watercolors down, even at this tiny scale (2.5×3.5 in). As usual, I grab the opportunity to experiment, mixing up watercolors and ink. These 9 art cards are my part in the 9th Doodle Swap session (this last link goes to the blog). Here, we get artists together from all over the world, and swap “doodles” through the mail. Its great to receive original works of art. You can also see most of them collected in the Flickr Doodle Swap group. There are many great pieces there. The topic was “Under The Sea”.

My experiment here was to control mixing ink and watercolors on watercolor paper. Last session I used “Bristol” cards. This time, the watercolor paper kind of absorbed the ink, and spread it a little. I also experimented with waterproof India ink, using dip pens. I love the feel of dip pens to draw, but I can wait to try them again on Bristol type paper. The lines were rather blotchy on watercolor paper. Its a different experience to use dip pens, and I like the way it lays down ink. Regardless, I had to touch up the ink with microns and brushpens because the watercolors would opaque the blacks if you weren’t very careful. So that added a bit of time to the process as well (and these were late to finish the batch). The subject, though I took seriously in a couple of the cards, I ended up treating mostly in jest. Goofy fish in funny situations.

So I learned the paper is very important, when dealing with inks, specially with dip pens. Next time I try watercolor paper, I’ll use a micron to do the outlines, and details. The ones I have use water proof ink as well, so it shouldn’t be a problem. I’ll see if I don’t have to touch up the blacks next time. ย Hope the recipients like them. Thanks for visiting, and have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on April 30, 2011 at 11:37 pm  Comments (6)  

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the crab “lovers” and the shipwreck! Great stuff!

    ArrrOOooo!

    • Those are some of my favs. The crabs are an example of the fun/cute things that come to mind. The shipwreck is something a friend suggested, and as well, something I always wanted to try. Shipwrecks are fun places to explore, and I’d love to see one sometime in the future. Thanks for your comment, Jahh! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great work dude! It must feel great to have these finished. Yea watercolor paper can be tricky with inking for sure. But it definately is better for watercolors lol. I notice if i try to use watercolors on like bristol board or something it makes the piece bristol curl up. But yea good work man! Glad to see you staying active regardless of how busy you are with home and work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Marshall! I’m going to try to keep the “mini” approach going for watercolors, as I synch with my new time demands. I noticed the buckling effect too, and that’s why I picked to use wc paper, but the next watercolor experiments will probably be on bristol.
      Thanks for your comments, man! I really appreciate it.

  3. so cute!!! Love them, as always!

    • I’m glad you liked them, Laura. We kind of have a whimsy vector along the same lines, and I believe you have an influence in some of my moves here. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your work. Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

