Art Card Watercolors Continued

I’ve missed some drawing time this week, so I continued with quick watercolor experiments. Waiting for watercolors to dry fitted right in with my daily work load. I have more art cards left to color, so you’ll get to see them. Since the topic was “Under The Sea”, for the last Doodle Swap session, you’ll see lots of sea oriented pieces.

The top image I call “The Fish Files”.  Had a little trouble getting the cave colors right, but now I have some practice mixing up browns. Several washes did the job. The second image, on the right, is “Book Worm On A Hook”. This was simple enough to color. A little fishing humor.

And here, to our left, we have a “Traveling Clam”. What was on my mind when I drew this? Who knows. I just wanted to draw a clam in a funny situation. As it happens, this morning I stopped by Kim Holm’s Free Art Friday ustream session, and caught him before he started recording, asking for a warm-up subject. I obliged with “Clam on Moving Day”, since I was finishing the little guy on the left. Here’s the link to the recorded session. Here’s his Free Art Friday collection. I’ll see about getting his great moving clam piece posted here. Kim is awesome, and I feel honored he indulged me.

Last but not least, a “Girlie Fish”. I was thinking about the type of things my daughter would enjoy when I drew it. Had a little trouble mixing up the pinks, reds, blues, and purples, and it turned out a bit darker than I wanted, but that’s what this experiment is all about: continued watercolor exploration.

The only thing I’ve looked up was how to make the color brown. I found several variations on how to do it, but I settled for blue+yellow and then red, to taste. The quick results were good enough for me to use. I hope you liked these little pieces. We’ll have more in the near future. Thanks for dropping by, and remember to have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on May 6, 2011 at 12:34 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good Stuff man! Yea i really love the fish with the flashlight LOL. Btw thanks again for the feedback I listened to it all and addressed some of it in my podcast for two weeks from now. Very helpfull! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Marshall! Gotta practice.
    Glad my feedback helped. Just being sincere, stirring the pot, giving you tips, even though I haven’t cooked myself. LOL I figured the opinion from another long time art podcast listening junkie like me may contribute. I think if there is passion for something, that same passion won’t steer you wrong. Can’t wait to listen to your next podcast. Thanks again!

  3. These are great! I’m glad that you are having fun with watercolors…it’s probably my favorite to deal with! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! it will probably be the last for a while, unless I come up with a method to watercolor while I travel for work. We’ll see.
      Thanks for visiting!


Leave a Reply

