Art Cards, Sea Life, And The Hulk?

Continuing my watercolor practice on a small-scale, I give you four more art cards. First off, a little fun with “The Hulk” as a star fish. I put this one up first because I’m sure lots of Marvel fans will click because of the Hulk reference. I’m not a huge super hero fan (as an art theme), but I couldn’t resist the mash-up. I remembered a reference to the regenerative properties of a star fish in the makeup of that famous gamma ray experiment, I believe, as featured in the live-action+CG feature movie. In any case, “Hulk hungry!”.

Next on the line up, something more traditional and cute, when it comes to sea life. A narwhal under ice. These art cards were drawn as a big batch for the Doodle Swap Project, and the topic was “under the sea”. Kind of cute. Had fun with the clean, blue colors used. I’m getting to know the color names such as, cerulean blue, Prussian blue, and Payne’s Gray. I’m actually getting the relation between the name of the color and its particular personality. I guess I understand myself here, in lieu of an actual art education when it comes to colors.

Next up, a manta ray, using those same blue colors I mentioned, mixing things up. This time with a cartoony feel. It took a while to figure out how to make the sleek and serious looking ray look sort of funny. I even thought of including those fish that stick to its bottom side, like they do with sharks, but it was a bit too much for my purpose.

The last of the quartet, a fish doing yoga-like meditation. The hard part was figuring out how to approximate the cross-legged position, with the feet crossed on top. Of course, I have no feet to work with when it comes to fish, so I chose the closest thing I could think of, which was curling up the fins to suggest the position. The side fins would sell the idea of “Ommmm”.

And that’s all I’ve got with this batch. Hope you liked them. Thanks for dropping by. All comments welcome. And remember, have a great art time!

Published in: Uncategorized on May 8, 2011 at 10:48 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow man! Lookin good! That Hulk Starfish is adorable!!!

    • Thanks Chris! Really appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

