PCW Mentor – # 1 – Attitude Poses

Krishna Sadasivam, of PC Weenies started a great mentoring experiment, where two lucky artists will get the benefit of his tutelage on cartooning for 10 weeks. Not only that! Anyone can follow along and take advantage of the lessons. Already in week 2, I’m lagging trying to follow, but follow I will. This is a great opportunity to hit on some good principles of cartooning. One can never stop learning. Thanks Krishna!

Assignment 1 was to draw a heavy-set male figure in three different poses: angry, tired, and happy. You can see the post, and what the two selected “mentorees” have contributed right here and here My attempt at following has already taught me a good lesson, as you’ll see below.

My poses were done quickly and without much adornment, trying to emulate a classroom setting, with not much time to work.

Angry – My angry heavy-set guy is ok on the right. Krishna’s suggestion of using an action line helped, though I didn’t exaggerate it enough. Another suggestion  was to use a silhouette to see how effective the pose was. My pose doesn’t convey “angry” well enough, save for that upheld fist, and he might as well be looking at the fist. Facial expression does work on the left, but at a glance, and without detail, the message is lost.

Tired – You can tell the guy is tired on the left, and I believe the detail of the head may convey that, hair hanging, etc. On the right, it kind of says “tired” but it could be confused with someone pushing a wall, or someone who is depressed (can’t really see the hanging arm).

Happy – My happy guy is obviously happy, on the right, and pegged down by that silly grin. The pose itself works because the grin is there, but when it comes to the silhouette on the right, he might as well be someone falling to his death, or one of those chalk marks from a crime scene! LOL!!

Take-away – Of the three, the most successful was “tired guy”, though he looks kind of sick. Maybe I exaggerated a bit too much. All in all, this experiment showed me the value of a silhouette. Excellent tool to measure how effectively your message comes through. I’m very guilty of depending on details to convey what I want the audience to see. Let’s face it. Folks do look at images in a flash of a second, when the true message should be registered. If you want your message to come through, use the silhouette as a tool to see how effective you are. Of course, this depends on what you want to say, and how you want to say it.

Another good take-away from this lesson was the “line of action”. Let the action of what your sketching guide the rest of your creation, and you won’t go wrong.

I’m really enjoying this experiment in learning that Krishna has provided, and I plan to follow along for all 10 weeks. As for the next one, I can’t wait to play with the “flour sack” LOL – check it out here.

Thanks for dropping by, and remember to have a great art time.

Published in: Uncategorized on January 13, 2012 at 10:37 am  Comments (4)  

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It can be so hard to convey a dramatic emotion. Despite not having a lot of time, you still did very well. I have never thought about testing the effectiveness by making your outlines a silhouette. It’s a great idea because it forces you to look at your work differently. You can become so focused on the details that you forget about what the entire image may be conveying. Good luck on the other challenges!

    • Thanks Jaime… its lots of fun, and also eye-opening.
      By the way, I did it in a short time because I wanted to make under a simulated “classroom” environment. You know… just a few lines, not much working on looks, to focus on basics, and the underpinnings of any piece, if you will. The idea is to reach the goal of the lesson. Of course, this is because I haven’t been to art school at all, and Krishna is an art teacher. 🙂 Thanks for your comment. Really appreciate it!

  2. Nicely done, Jose! I like what you’ve done here.

    • Thanks Rene! First time I do the silhouette experiment. Very interesting.


Leave a Reply

