PCW Mentor 2 – Flour Sack

Following Krishna Sadasivam’s Mentor Experiment, assig. 2 “Understanding the Torso with the Help of a Flour Sack”, I’m taking it on as time permits. This is why I’m taking on the persona of a sloppy art student, late with work, and drawing on the fly. While learning concepts, you’ll see lots of rough stuff. Its not an excuse, its an attitude. LOL

So there were 6 poses to use a flour-sack as the base shape for a torso. Here are some preliminary flour sack sketches, to get acquainted. Mom and kid on the right.

I didn’t follow the original assignment order. For some, I drew various versions, and all are available for a quick peek, if you’re in a hurry, in a slideshow at the end of this post. I included them for perspective.

Kick – I drew 3 kicking poses with the flour sack. Here’s the one I liked. The silhouette kind of works, though it may be confused for someone dancing. Then again, kicking can be part dancing. The action line did the work, in my opinion.

Punch – I wasn’t too happy with this one, having concentrated on a front punch pose without thinking about the silhouette. That front punch pose can be seen in the slideshow at the bottom of this post. The line of action works ok here, but my proportions, and stance could use some work.

Bending over to pick up somethingΒ – This pose works with both, line of action and silhouette. The flour sack worked in terms of bending over. The skirt does not obscure the silhouette. The thing over the mouth is supposed to be a hand. πŸ™‚

Lifting Barbells – I like this one. You can see the flour sack twist, it has volume, and the silhouette works for me. I would have worked on this one more, but I drew fast on purpose.

Running scared – Cartoon-like, sort of a classic, now that I look at it. The flour sack worked, and the silhouette didn’t suffer much, in terms of being identified.

Twist – Not too happy about this one. Hurrying worked against me. The twist itself is hard to figure out, even in the non-silhouette image. Maybe extending the right arm would have work better.

And there you have it. Had lots of fun, drawing rough and fast, and learning from it. Speed highlights errors. Prepping this post took longer than drawing. I’d probably get a D, if not an F, from Krishna. LOL It gave me perspective while learning from a great pro. Hope you liked it. Thanks for dropping by, and have a great art time!

PS – Please look at the slideshow of all the images I wanted to post here. I uploaded even more images than show above, including additional work. WordPress goes only so far before it starts getting difficult to layout, etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published in: Uncategorized on January 21, 2012 at 10:50 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes I agree with all your assessments on your sack sketches. Your favourites are my favourites. I too had problems with the the woman turning to look over her shoulder and wasn’t happy with any of mine. I am going to do the silhouettes for my favourite ones and post them (it is a good idea and I forgot that Krishna mentioned this)

    Keep on drawing!

    ArrrOOoo!

  2. Cool. I guess it depends what you want to use your figure for (the silhouettes). You know how we love to render, and put in details, anyway. But it is eye-opening too. I checked out some of Krishna’s critiques for the two “mentorees”, and boy, do they apply to me too. I like the “volumetric shapes” concept… and will have that in mind next time. Assignment 3 looks good.

  3. Keep the good work..! TQM

  4. My number 1 fan! πŸ™‚ Thank you!


Leave a Reply

